• Fuel Your Growth
  • Posts
  • How a $5K Error Reinforced My Core Values – What Would You Do?

How a $5K Error Reinforced My Core Values – What Would You Do?

Weekly Growth Tip 🚀

Uncover how core values like love, kindness, empathy, hard work, and especially integrity, are key to building trust, fostering emotional intelligence, and establishing a strong personal brand.

How a $5K Error Reinforced My Core Values – What Would You Do?

Trust. A simple, yet powerful word that forms the crux of all our interactions. Be it online or offline, in business or in life, the credibility of what we hear, read or experience hinges on this five-letter word. You can perhaps be lured by the warmth of a charming smile or the authority of a company badge, but is that enough?

This is where integrity comes into play.

Integrity, like a piece of fine print, often goes unnoticed, yet forms the essential fabric of our exchanges. While some organizations might exploit the lack of transparency, many prefer to uphold your trust, even when it isn't necessarily profitable. Integrity, to them and me, isn't a strategy— it’s how I govern my life.

Recently, I was reminded of the value of integrity when I found myself on the cusp of a small dilemma. I had quoted a potential customer on a piece of hardware, only to realize later that I'd overpriced it by over $5k. The customer was oblivious to my mistake, but I wasn't. It was at this moment that my Core Values were put to the test.

I could have ignored the mistake, but that was never an option, because my compass was guided by integrity, which nudged me to correct my course. No, it didn't make me a saint—it simply made me a man of conscience, committed to doing the right thing, irrespective of the audience.

I reached out to my customer and made them aware of my error and that I was going to reduce their price by the amount of the overcharge. This was the right thing to do, however at the time of publishing this blog, I haven’t heard their response yet, but I’m sure they would agree with the adage that “integrity is doing what's right, even when no one is looking.” It may also gain me some points in earning their future business, however, that’s in no way the reason I let them know of my error; I did it because of my own Core Values.

My Core Values are Love, Kindness, Empathy, Hard Work, and yes, Integrity. And it is these values that not only shape my personal brand but also my interactions with those around me. You see, I prefer to be known as a man of character first, because your character is something you can never lose at the hands of anyone else but yourself, so you should protect it within yourself at all costs. The moment you give it up even once is a moment lost that can never be recovered.

This experience also underlines the essence of emotional intelligence in business. Emotional intelligence isn't about understanding and managing your emotions, it's also about empathizing with the emotions of others, maintaining honest relationships, and upholding trust. It’s about manifesting integrity in your actions.

What are your Core Values?

Let's circle back to the question—what does integrity mean to you? Your definition of integrity could be the distinguishing factor in your personal brand. It could define how you engage with others, how you conduct your business, and how you perceive honesty.

When integrity becomes a pillar of your personal brand, it not only builds credibility but also fosters trust among your clients, partners, and colleagues. It instills confidence in your actions and decisions, painting a picture of reliability, consistency, and authenticity. And isn't that what we all seek in our interactions?

To say that my $5k error was an invaluable lesson would be an understatement. It served as a reminder of the significance of my Core Values. It taught me that mistakes are not always setbacks; sometimes, they are opportunities for personal growth.

So, if you ever find yourself at the crossroads of a similar predicament, I urge you to reflect, introspect, and take the path illuminated by integrity. It might not be the easiest, but it will certainly be the most rewarding. Because at the end of the day, integrity isn't just about doing the right thing, it's about being the right person. I hope this helps.

Reply

or to participate.