5 Ways to Grow as a Human by Conquering Your Fears

Weekly Growth Tip 🚀

Weekly Growth Tip 🚀

Turn fear into a rocket for your personal growth by doing that which you fear the most. Scared of heights - go skydiving. Scared to speak in public - speak in public. Facing your fears and overcoming them will help you grow as a human. 🚀

5 Ways to Grow as a Human by Conquering Your Fears

Fear is an unseen barrier, often stopping us from experiencing a fulfilling life and a successful career. The path least taken is frequently the right one, yet we avoid it, fearing the pain that might come.

"He who is not everyday conquering some fear has not learned the secret of life." ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

My Journey Through Fear – My 3 Big Fears:

My Fear of Failure

Failing the 7th grade was a defining moment in my life that led me down a path of self-discovery. Developing my own study system to counter my neurodivergence, I managed to graduate from college and graduate school with good grades. However, had I allowed fear and the embarrassment of my early failure to define me, I may have gone down a different path.

Having a fear of failure can be beneficial. However, I'm not sure I feared failure much before I failed the 7th grade. Now, a great deal of my success is driven by a healthy fear of failure.

My Fear of Heights

I’ve always had a fear of heights. In the Army, I took a leap—literally—by completing 5 static line jumps from a C-130 aircraft at 1,500 feet during the U.S. Army Airborne School at Fort Benning, Georgia. Though I'm still scared of heights today, the experience gave me newfound confidence and self-belief.

My Fear of Public Speaking

Growing up, I stuttered and was terrified of speaking in public. I was also extremely shy and lacked self-confidence. After college, I joined Toastmasters International, a public speaking civic organization, and completed my Competent Toastmaster Designation. I remained involved with the club for over three years. Now, I’ve given more than a dozen keynote speeches and hundreds of other speeches, free from the crippling fear of public speaking that once held me back.

5 Rules to Overcome Fear

Fear is not just a barrier; it's an opportunity for growth if channeled correctly. Here are five actionable steps to help you conquer fear.

  1. Identify Your Fear
    Get to the root of what terrifies you and face it head-on. For example, if heights are your nemesis, consider skydiving.

  2. Seek Support
    Don’t go it alone. Surround yourself with positive people who are also on a journey of growth.

  3. Visualize Success
    Visualize your goals and let the feeling of success wash over you. This mental picture will serve as a powerful motivator.

    Michael Jordan painting courtesy of Google Images

  4. Embrace Challenges
    Take calculated risks. Learn from failures and challenge your own limits. As Marcus Aurelius said, "What stands in the way becomes the way."

  5. Stay Committed
    Keep pushing, regardless of how intimidating the obstacles may seem. In the words of Jimmy V, "Don't give up, Don't ever give up."

Challenge your limits!

Weekly Growth Tip

Identify one fear you have and take a small step to confront it today. Whether it's signing up for a public speaking course or simply taking the elevator instead of the stairs to confront your fear of heights, that first step is crucial.

By conquering your fears, you're not just overcoming obstacles; you're evolving into a more confident and capable version of yourself. Be brave enough to challenge your limits.

Follow me on LinkedIn

Reply

or to participate.